<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Caution: Domain Name Phishing Scams on the Rise</title>
	<atom:link href="http://myhosting.com/blog/2008/10/caution-domain-phishing-scams-rise/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://myhosting.com/blog/2008/10/caution-domain-phishing-scams-rise/</link>
	<description>Your source for web hosting news, trends and opinions</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Wed, 08 Feb 2012 12:19:41 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.1</generator>
	<item>
		<title>By: Texas2Step</title>
		<link>http://myhosting.com/blog/2008/10/caution-domain-phishing-scams-rise/comment-page-1/#comment-58117</link>
		<dc:creator>Texas2Step</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 06 Sep 2011 06:34:40 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.myhosting.com/?p=344#comment-58117</guid>
		<description>I&#039;m not surprised the fake domain-renewal letters look official. These crooks put a lot of time and effort into producting quality work.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;m not surprised the fake domain-renewal letters look official. These crooks put a lot of time and effort into producting quality work.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Stoddard</title>
		<link>http://myhosting.com/blog/2008/10/caution-domain-phishing-scams-rise/comment-page-1/#comment-45463</link>
		<dc:creator>Stoddard</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 16 Apr 2011 19:58:25 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.myhosting.com/?p=344#comment-45463</guid>
		<description>Yow, reading about all of these scams makes my head hurt.  Still, forewarned is forearmed.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Yow, reading about all of these scams makes my head hurt.  Still, forewarned is forearmed.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: One IT NZ Cloud Hosting</title>
		<link>http://myhosting.com/blog/2008/10/caution-domain-phishing-scams-rise/comment-page-1/#comment-39839</link>
		<dc:creator>One IT NZ Cloud Hosting</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 17 Jan 2011 00:52:07 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.myhosting.com/?p=344#comment-39839</guid>
		<description>I have also received scams of this nature from some of my New Zealand customers saying they received emails informing them that they can renew their domain names with some Australian company. They only seem to target .com and .net domains though and not .co.nz ones.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I have also received scams of this nature from some of my New Zealand customers saying they received emails informing them that they can renew their domain names with some Australian company. They only seem to target .com and .net domains though and not .co.nz ones.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Randy5</title>
		<link>http://myhosting.com/blog/2008/10/caution-domain-phishing-scams-rise/comment-page-1/#comment-33967</link>
		<dc:creator>Randy5</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 15 Oct 2010 12:28:53 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.myhosting.com/?p=344#comment-33967</guid>
		<description>Thanks for those tips, Stewart.  This sounds like a clever scheme, and one I might have even fallen for myself!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Thanks for those tips, Stewart.  This sounds like a clever scheme, and one I might have even fallen for myself!</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Stewart Engelman</title>
		<link>http://myhosting.com/blog/2008/10/caution-domain-phishing-scams-rise/comment-page-1/#comment-16392</link>
		<dc:creator>Stewart Engelman</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 25 Jul 2009 03:08:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.myhosting.com/?p=344#comment-16392</guid>
		<description>Hello,

Thank you for a good lesson to all.  Just for completeness, I thought I&#039;d mention another thing that&#039;s going on, sort of a semi-scam.  I am a domain reseller, and I own quite a few domains.  At the moment I can&#039;t remember the name of the company, but I get alot of emails from them, usually about 60 days before one of my domains is about to expire, warning me that I am in danger of losing my domain if I do not renew.  This is of course a true statement, but the company sending the letters is not my registrar.  What they are in effect doing is trying to trick you into transferring your domain at best, and at worst are just trying to steal your money.  My advice is that anyone who receives one of these letters should look up the &quot;WhoIs&quot; record for their domain, and make sure the letter sender matches the registrar listed at ICANN.  These letters look very official, not like sales letters at all, and I bet alot of people could be fooled by them if they don&#039;t take the time to investigate properly.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Hello,</p>
<p>Thank you for a good lesson to all.  Just for completeness, I thought I&#8217;d mention another thing that&#8217;s going on, sort of a semi-scam.  I am a domain reseller, and I own quite a few domains.  At the moment I can&#8217;t remember the name of the company, but I get alot of emails from them, usually about 60 days before one of my domains is about to expire, warning me that I am in danger of losing my domain if I do not renew.  This is of course a true statement, but the company sending the letters is not my registrar.  What they are in effect doing is trying to trick you into transferring your domain at best, and at worst are just trying to steal your money.  My advice is that anyone who receives one of these letters should look up the &#8220;WhoIs&#8221; record for their domain, and make sure the letter sender matches the registrar listed at ICANN.  These letters look very official, not like sales letters at all, and I bet alot of people could be fooled by them if they don&#8217;t take the time to investigate properly.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: mail2web.com Blog &#124; Update Regarding Domain Name Phishing Scams</title>
		<link>http://myhosting.com/blog/2008/10/caution-domain-phishing-scams-rise/comment-page-1/#comment-5598</link>
		<dc:creator>mail2web.com Blog &#124; Update Regarding Domain Name Phishing Scams</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 31 Oct 2008 19:07:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.myhosting.com/?p=344#comment-5598</guid>
		<description>[...] For more information regarding this phishing scam, we encourage you to read our full posting on the myhosting.com Blog. [...]</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>[...] For more information regarding this phishing scam, we encourage you to read our full posting on the myhosting.com Blog. [...]</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>

