Browse
 
Tools Add
Rss Categories
-->

ICANN Registrar Transfer Policy

Reference Number: AA-00407 Created: 2012-09-19 14:42 Last Updated: 2012-10-04 04:13 0 Rating/ Voters

The new registrar transfer policy removes the need to "double-confirm" when you are transferring your domain name from one registrar to another. The new policy requires only a single confirmation step. Some registrars feel that this is a drastic policy change and are suggesting that domain owners lock their domain to prevent any registrar transfers. However, the procedure is standardized and has certain requirements of the registrars in order to help prevent any false registrar transfers.

For details about the new registrar transfer policy, you can refer to ICANN's website at the following address: http://www.icann.org/transfers

The procedure can be summarized as follows:

  1. The domain name owner contacts that registrar that they wish to transfer the domain name to, requesting that the transfer be initiated.
  2. The gaining registrar will initiate the transfer. The registrar is required to complete an opt-in confirmation by contacting the registrant (owner) or administrative contact listed in the WHOIS record of the domain.
    • The owner or admin contact must complete the confirmation request, indicating that YES they do want to transfer the domain name.
    • Failure to complete this confirmation will result in cancellation of the registrar transfer.
    • You may be required to provide an authorization code before the transfer can be completed. If so, you can obtain the code from the losing registrar.
  3. If the owner or admin contact completes the confirmation request from step 2, then the transfer request is sent to the losing registrar. The losing registrar will contact the owner or admin contact stating that their domain name will be transferred to the new registrar.
    • If the owner/admin wants to transfer the domain, no further action is necessary and the transfer will be completed in 5 days.
    • If the owner/admin does not want to transfer the domain, they must opt-out by replying with a NO response.

If you are not planning to transfer or make any changes to your domain name registration, you can lock your domain name to prevent any such changes. If your domain name is already locked, and you want to make any name server or contact info changes, you will need to first unlock the domain name. If your domain name is registered through myhosting.com, please contact our support department at support@myhosting.com for assistance in locking or unlocking your domain name.

Rss Comments
  • There are no comments for this article.
Info Add Comment
Nickname: Your Email: Subject: Comment:
Enter the code below: